In the late eighteenth century Wales, and Snowdonia in particular, was slowly becoming known to tourists through the books written by early travellers.
In 1811 the carriage road from Caernarfon, which previously came only to the lower end of Llyn Padarn was extended to Llanberis.
The Dolbadarn Hotel, built in 1802, was originally a Coaching Hotel and one of the earliest buildings to be erected in the village.
Dolbadarn means, The Meadow of Padarn. With its two steam railways, the famous Snowdon Mountain Railway and its gentler cousin the Llyn Padarn Railway, fascinating Quarry Museum and informative Environmental Centre, Llanberis has much to offer the visitor quite apart from the natural beauty to be found in exploring its many walks and enjoying its varied outdoor activities.
The Hotel itself is centrally heated with a large, comfortable lounge with colour television. All rooms have H & C and several have private facilities.
The Restaurant serves good wholesome food and bar snacks are always available during the lunch hours from one of the hotel's two bars.